Reading is my favorite hobby and I love when summer comes around because it means I have even more time to read. It also means no one can judge me for reading cheesy summer beach reads. Here’s my list of the 7 best summer beach reads I’ve ever read and why you need to read all of them ASAP!

The Summer I Turned Pretty (trilogy) by Jenny Han

These books take you through a girl named Belly’s summer love triangle between childhood best friends. Some people hate love triangles in books, but I’m a sucker for them (even though the guy I pick usually gets dumped). Because it’s a trilogy, you really get to see the characters develop and trust me when I say you will fall in love with whichever boy you think Belly should end up with and you might be heartbroken if she doesn’t pick your guy.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

“My Life Next Door” is one of the best books I have ever read. I fell in love with the author’s writing and the way she tells the story. I couldn’t seem to put this book down! It’s a sweet summer romance complicated by politics with a couple you’ll be rooting for the whole way through. Samantha falls for the boy next door who comes from a family her mother would never approve of. Loyalties are tested between doing what is right and protecting the people you love.

Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin

The first of two books written by Regis Philbin’s daughter chronicling a girl who moves in with a wealthy family for the summer in East Hampton to be their summer errand girl. This book will transport you to the Hamptons and make you wish you were spending your summer there. I will say, in the sequel, I disagreed with a character’s actions, which made me sour for a majority of the second book. However, I have no complaints when it comes to the first one! I would have been much more satisfied if I had stopped after the first book because it’s a great summer read.

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

It’s your dream come true of meeting (and falling for) a cute celebrity with the added bonus that your best friend is also a famous singer. Open Road Summer tells the story of a girl getting over a bad heartbreak by going on tour with her famous best friend. This story is different from most summer reads (aka no beaches), and the characters were easy to fall in love with.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

When you finish this book, you won’t know what hit you. It isn’t the lightest summer beach read, instead, it’s a suspense novel set in the summer. I don’t typically go for suspense, but this book drew me in and pulled me all the way through until I was speechless when it ended. I don’t even know how to describe the plot, but with plot twists you’ll have a hard time wrapping your head around, “We Were Liars” is a must-read.

The Summer My Life Began by Shannon Greenland

This book is a nice, light summer read, with plot twists that you may (or in my case) may not see coming. “The Summer My Life Began” is about a girl going to live with her aunt for the summer in a beachy town. As with most summer reads, there is a cute local surfer boy who is impossible to resist, which makes for a really cute romance to underly family drama.

Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

With “Twenty Boy Summer,” Ockler tells a story that isn’t an easy one to tell. Anna’s best friend Frankie thinks the best way to spend their summer is at the beach finding the perfect summer fling. Anna agrees half-heartedly, but what Frankie doesn’t know is that Anna had her perfect fling, with Frankie’s brother who tragically died a year ago. This beautifully written book about love, loss, and friendship will have you in tears when you least expect it and will stay with you long after you finish reading it.

Leave a Reply

