After a very nice four-and-a-half hour nap yesterday evening, we all decided to go get pizza right down the street. The pizza was delicious and our waiter was very nice as well. He told us his dream was to come to America. He laughed at Grandma trying to speak to him in Polish and he even taught us some new Polish words.

I decided to start making a list of all the new Polish phrases I learn along with my phonetical spelling of the Polish. It’s quite an impressive list already!

Back at the hotel room that night, Mom, Katie, and I played a game of Yahtzee before retiring to our beds for the night. I stayed up a little later than I should have to finish the last 60 pages of The Book Thief. It’s a fictional book about the Holocaust that I highly recommend. I finished the book around 1:30 in the morning. Falling asleep was an entirely different story.

Our hotel room is very comfortable with nice beds and a nice shower, however, it was really hot in our room and I can only sleep when it’s cold. I managed to fall restlessly asleep just after 2:30 only to wake back up two hours later at 4:30 and I couldn’t fall asleep for at least another half hour.

I woke up on time around 7:30 the next morning. In total, I got about four hours of sleep.
It’s not exactly what I’d call ideal after only sleeping two hours the night before. Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 4.18.00 PM.pngFortunately for everyone else, they all slept like rocks.

This morning, we all decided to meet downstairs at 8:30 for the continental breakfast. The breakfast was so good and had a huge variety of food including pancakes, bacon, croissants, sausage, and fruit among other things. There was something for everyone, which is especially nice considering our group’s picky eaters.

Our plan for today is to take a sightseeing bus tour around Warsaw this afternoon and then walk down Royal Road to the town square. Tonight we have a welcome dinner at the hotel to official begin our group tour for the trip.

I can’t wait to see all that Warsaw has to offer!

Leave a Reply

